All posts by Shane


Commerce Tigers State Wrestling Champs 2014

Congrats to the Tiger Wrestling Team on winning the 2014 State Wrestling Title in Single A. To win the whole thing at home made it even sweeter. The Tigers had 5 individual champs as well – Chance McClure (220 pounds) , Dalton Flint (106 pounds), Austin Brock (120), Trent Reddish (160) and Greyson Cochran (170) won. Mitchell Patton (113), Jake Tate (145) and Morgan Flint (195) also reached the finals and took second.

Online Athens Article

Commerce Tiger Football 2014

Commerce Tiger 2014 Football Schedule

              Commerce Football Schedule 2014

A29Fri,    Banks County        *
S5Fri,    Hebron Christian    #    *
S12Fri,    Jefferson
S19Fri,    Athens Academy    #    *
S26Fri,    Athens Christian    #
O3Fri,    Prince Avenue    #
O10Fri,      OPEN
O17Fri,    Providence Chr.    #
O24Fri,    Towns County    #    *
O31Fri,    George Walton Ac.    #
N7Fri,    Lakeview Academy    #    *
N14Fri,       Playoff game        &

*——Home games, 8:00    All Away games, 7:30
#——Region game
&—- Playoff game

The known Commerce football record as the 2014 season
begins this fall is (565-288-22),   .657 pct.   covering a span
of 88 known years (1909-12), (1914-25), (1940-2013).

Commerce Wrestling

Commerce State Wrestling Champions

Commerce won the State Wrestling Duals Championship on Saturday by defeating Athens Christian (48-18).

The Tigers had seven state championship winners:  Dalton Flint at (106) lbs., Cole Chancey at (138), Trent Reddish at (160), Dontavious Mosley at (170), seniors-Holden Nunn at (195), Morgan Flint at (220) and Chance McClure at (285).

All of the above seven Tiger wrestlers won by a pin.

Mitchell Patton at (113) won by a major decision.

The Tigers routed Strong Rock Christian (77-3) in the quarter-finals and Turner County (72-7) in the semi-finals on their way to their final match with Athens Christian.

This is the first state Duals Championship for the Tigers.

 Commerce had won a State Wrestling Team Championship back in 1990 under Coach Steve Savage.

Source—The Athens Banner-Herald

Chance Mcclure